Mark Twain Monday Musing

Mark Twain Monday Musing:

“The weakest of all weak things is a virtue that has not been tested in the fire.”  – quoted in Mark Twain, by Archibald Henderson.

It is always easier to talk the talk than to walk the walk. It is the times when one walks alone in virtue that one appreciate the idea that the one set of footprints in the sand is, in fact, the Good Lord helping to bear your burden. It is easier to defame another than to take responsibility for our own faults. In an individualistic society, the focus is on “I” and “me”, not “we” and “us”. Because I have nothing nice to say about myself or my accomplishments or how I have made the world better, I will tell you how another has negatively impacted the world. I’ll dribble a little poison in your ear about another, so that you will think I am your friend. Beware oh two-face one, Karma is a bitch.

Have we become a society that only cares about the “we” when the “I’ has been impacted? Do I only care about an issue when it affects me personally? Do I care a little about a lot of things, or is it better to care a lot about a few things? Shall I weep for the millions or care for the one?

It is when we are asked to make a choice and walk in virtue that we are truly tested. Do we stand in the face of opposition, not because it is popular, but because it is right? Do we stand in the face of the unpopular and defend it, because it is right? ” It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.” (Mathew, 10:25). What do we value….things or passion?

If faced with death tomorrow, what would your final thought be?

Cheers ya’ll

Connie

Leave a Reply

